COMMONLY ASKED QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS FOR BECOMING A REAL ESTATE AGENT:
Q: Is the school approved by the State of Massachusetts to provide Real Estate Pre-licensing & Continuing education?
A: Yes. Our authorized school code is #1290. We are fully licensed, insured and bonded. We can teach the Salesperson and Broker Pre-licensing courses as well as the state approved continuing education curriculum.
Q: How long does the course take?
A: State of Massachusetts requires all students complete 40 hours of pre-licensing education through a state approved school in order to qualify and sit for the state licensing exam. We offer a "Weekend Warrior" class which runs on Saturdays & Sundays over two back to back weekends from 8am-6pm. In addition, we offer a weekday class which normally runs 2 or 3 days or 3 days per week from 9am-2pm
Q: How long do I have to complete the exam?
A: 4 hours time to complete exam. There are 2 sections of the exam - General & State. You must get a 70% on each portion to pass. The exam is computer based and consists of 120 multiple choice questions. Upon passing, you will receive your license. If you did not pass, you will receive your score before leaving the testing site. You will also see the areas of content which improvement is needed to help you study. The state has recently begun asking scenario based questions as well.
Q: Are additional classes required to get or maintain my license?
A: No additional classes are needed to get your license. However, current licensees who are renewing their license must complete 12 hours of Continuing Education every two years. The CE credits can be earned via online education or in a classroom setting by a licensed real estate school. Additional testing sites have been added to absorb backlog from site closures due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
Q: Where do I take the state exam?
A: PSI Services is the state's testing agency. (www.psiexams.com) The examination centers are located in Auburn, Charleston, Fall River, Lawrence & West Springfield. These are the only locations the state's vendor provides. Exams are available weekly. * Additional sites may be available.
Q: How soon after I pass the exam do I get my real estate license?
A: You'll get your license on the spot. Candidates are expected to pay a license fee immediately upon passing. The Exam Cost is $85, re-takes are $54/each, honorably discharged Veterans $54. Salesperson License Fee is $103-$150 prorated. Licenses expire every two years on your birthday. Real Estate Brokers License Fee is between $142-$200 as prorated.
Q: What if I don't pass both parts of the exam?
A: Candidates who pass one section only need to retake the section they didn't pass. A test summary will be provided showing areas of strengths & weaknesses. When you retake the examination, you'll only be allotted 2.5 hrs for the General portion & 1.5 hours to complete the State portion.
Q: Are there other requirements to be met before I get a license?
A: Yes, you must be 18 years of age. Candidate needs to secure 3 personal character references who are unrelated. Candidates must complete the Criminal Offender Record Information (CORI) Acknowledgement Form which needs to be notarized by a Notary. If you have a felony, the board will review your license application & CORI and may require a personal meeting with you to answer any questions or concerns they may have. You must have filed & paid all state tax returns to date. If you are currently on a payment plan with the state or federal government, you should contact the real estate board to confirm your qualification. The board will not approve anyone currently on parole or probation. You also need 2 forms of current signature ID (Payment by: credit card, debt card. (NO CASH will be accepted)
Q: How will the examination center know I completed the pre-licensing class?
A: You'll receive a Class Completion Certificate upon completing 40 hours of education. An authorized representative of the school will sign & stamp the Certificate. You'll need to send the board your paperwork in advance so they can run your CORI and approve you to schedule the exam.
Q: How long is my Completion Certificate good for?
A: You have 2 years from the class completion date to pass the exam. If the time expires, you'll have to retake the pre-licensing class.
Other important info:
Candidates should read the Candidate Information Bulletin carefully and pay very close attention to PSI's cancellation policy as outlined.
A calculator is provided by PSI. No phones or study materials are permitted.
Effective March 4, 2019, the State of MA has changed it's testing policy. All candidates will now need to submit a 3 page Application for Examination and other supporting documentation to PSI Examination Services to obtain approval to schedule the exam. If you've already scheduled the exam prior to the 3/4/19 changes or taken the exam prior to this date, the new process will be required.
BROKERS LICENSING -
Same as above and;
Must obtain Employing Broker Certification - certifies the Salesperson has been affiliated with a real estate brokerage for at least 3 years, actively engaged in the business. If you've worked for multiple brokerages over the 3 year period, you'll need to obtain certifications from as many agencies needed to make up the 3 year requirement.
Affiliated Broker must certify Salesperson has worked at least 25 hours per week - actively engaged in real estate.
Candidate must obtain $5,000 Surety Bond. Typically costs $50 for 5 years.
Should you have other questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to give us a call @ 1-800-681-4840.